What is Otto Cycle?

The Otto cycle was given by Dr. Nikolaus August Otto. This cycle consists of four processes, two isoentropic and two isochoric processes. Heat is supplied and heat is rejected by the cycle during the isochoric process.

The entire modern petrol engine works on the Otto cycle.

Here we will try to understand this cycle with help of its P-V and T-S diagram.

what is otto cycle process


1-2: Adiabatic compression
2-3: Isochoric heat addition
3-4: Adiabatic expansion
4-1: Isochoric heat rejection

Heat supplied during constant volume process 2-3

Heat rejected during constant volume process 4-1

The thermal efficiency of Otto cycle can be given by the formula

You May Also Read:

About the author


Leave a Comment